Ramsar Sites in Uganda

Ramsar Sites in Uganda – List of Wetlands in Uganda

Ramsar Sites in Uganda

Mabamba Swamp near Lake Victoria, a bird watching spot is one of the Ramsar Sites in Uganda.

Ramsar Sites in Uganda are 12 designated places as Wetlands of International Importance, with a surface total area of 454,303 hectares. Uganda Ramsar Sites are several and include a number of wetlands and large swamps. These sites are recognized by Bird Life International as Important Bird Areas as they offer vital habitations for some endangered animals and plants. These Ramsar sites spread around the country include Uganda’s biggest tract of swamps, forests and extensive papyrus tracts and magnificent system of waterfalls. Uganda offers protection to the home of endangered species like globally vulnerable Shoebill stork, Sitatunga and the Papyrus Gonolek, which are vital tourist attractions. These sites have socio-economic and cultural values as local communities depend on them for survival in form of fishing, construction materials, flood protection, medicines, water filtration and grazing among others.

The Wetlands Inspection Division, for this new achievement and for its continual efforts in the implementation of the Convention at both national and international levels. The globally recognized Ramsar sites were designated by various environmental bodies including WWF’s Global Freshwater Programme, the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, Bird Life International, the Royal Danish Embassy in Kampala and Nature Uganda among others. Uganda joined the Convention in 1988 and has 12 Ramsar places. Internationally, the Convention’s 153 Contracting Parties have 1626  designated The swampy places occupy 145,594,013 hectares ( 359,617,212 acres). The following are the Ramsar Sites in Uganda:-

Annotated List of Wetlands of International Importance in Uganda

Lake Nabugabo Wetland System

Nabajjuzi Wetland System

Lake Bisina Wetland System

Lake Mburo-Nakivali Wetland System

Lutembe Bay Wetland System

Lake Nakuwa Wetland System

Murchison Falls-Albert Delta Wetland System

Sango Bay-Musambwa Island-Kagera Wetland System (SAMUKA)

Lake Opeta Wetland System